Customize your workspace

Workspace overview

Workspace is a specific layout of the VehicleTracker user interface. You can have multiple Workspaces with different layouts for different tasks.

A Workspace keeps track of the following information:

  • A list positions and sizes.
  • Columns visible in list lists.
  • Sort order in lists.
  • Current View.

Default workspaces

By default, a newly created VT application comes with two different workspaces that you can select:

Default
Manage Users

You can always go back to any of these two default workspace by selecting them in the menu Workspace

Manage Workspaces

In Manage Workspaces you can remove or select which workspaces you want to share with other users in the platform.

To access Manage Workspaces, select Workspace > Manage Workspaces

Workspace Settings 

In Workspace Settings you can modify certain workspace parameters as Online status timeoutMarker ClusteringMarker SizeSmart Labels and Geofence Labels.

To access Workspace Settings, select Workspace > Workspace Settings

 

Online status timeout

allows you to set the time, in seconds, when a vehicle is considered offline. By default is 10 minutes.

Marker Clustering allows controlling if you want to display Marker Clustering when several vehicles reside in the same area when zooming the map out.
Marker Size allows defining the size of the markers on the map.
Smart Labels Smart labels prevent label overlapping if several vehicles reside close to each other.
   

 

Customizing your workspace

Some of the changes you can make in your workspace are:

  • Drag and drop windows to other areas

drag-drop.GIF

  • Add new columns

All these changes will require saving the Workspace if you want to preserve the latest changes made.

To save your changes select Workspace > Save As

 

NoteShared check box is only shown if you're an administrator or have the Privilege _EditSharedWorkspace for your user. This option will make the Workspace available to all users.

Adding new panels

You can add/remove new panels in your VT interface by simply selecting in the menu Workspace > View:

 

Deleting a Workspace

You can delete any workspace in Workspace > Manage Workspaces and clicking in the Delete button of any other workspace than the Default