Using Roles and Features

To give a user different rights we have introduced Roles and Features. A Role has access to a set of Features in an application. Multiple Roles can be applied to any User in your application.

Add Features to Application

When you create a new application inside Site Admin you have the possibility to decide what features to activate. You find the settings under Privileges and Features inside the application properties. Select all Features that you would like to include in the Application (Maps, plugins, shared Workspaces and so on).

Application Privileges

When you login to the application with Administrator privileges you have the possibility to enable/disable Features for different Roles. You can for example create a Role with access to only very basic Features like the Map and Vehicle List and a small set of units. 


Your application has four different Roles by default:


_Administrator
All features and rights are enabled by default.


_Operator
No access to Administrator type features like Add Users, manage Event rules and Create Views.


_Unit

Can send information to the server, but lacks the right to log in to the VehicleTracker interface.


_Driver
To be used for drivers only. Read more about driver options here.

Editing/Customizing Roles

In case of needed specific roles for certain users, it's possible to create custom roles.

We recommend to check all the roles list and descriptions here.

We strongly recommend to make copies of the standard roles before making any modification.

1. Click in Create copy

2. Define a name to this new role. Add information about what this role does (optional)

The option Auto allow new items is useful if you install new plugins or add new features in Site Admin and you want this user to have these features automatically without the need of introducing them manually later in the application.

 

3. Select which users will have the new role and click in Next

Note: remember to remove the selected user/s from their previous roles to avoid overlapping.

4. Select the privileges you want to add to the user.

5. Click in Save