Security and device history - finding out who deleted a device
To know if someone has deleted a device, follow these steps:
1. Check if the device really is deleted by searching for that user using User Search tool.
2. If the device has been deleted, check who deleted it using User Actions. Use this tool in the following way:
- Set a time period.
- Set Category to Users
- Enter the username of the removed device in the Message field.
Leave all other fields empty and click Search.
Now you will see the username and time when the device was deleted.
3. If you want to avoid this from happening again, make sure you remove the _DeleteUsers privilege from Roles that do not need it. Read more about roles here.
- There is a useful feature in Site Admin to login impersonated, meaning you can log in with different users profiles into your application to review its privileges. Read more about impersonation and overview here.